The School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures (Scoil na dTeangacha, na Litríochtaí agus na gCultúr) was formed in 2007 and consists of the Departments of Classics, French, Gaeilge, German, Italian and Spanish. This configuration of disciplines extends beyond the more common grouping of European languages to embrace both indigenous and past languages and cultures.

The School has 40 full-time academic staff and over 1700 undergraduate and postgraduate students and offers a wide range of programmes, including a number of interdisciplinary courses.

The School is proud of the diversity and quality of its teaching and has a strong research profile with many members of staff enjoying an international reputation in their fields. It has identified four themed priority areas: Culture, Media and Text; Language and Communication; Myth, Folklore and Religion and Place, Space and Displacement.

Sub-communities within this community

Recent Submissions

View more